The NSW branch of the Statistical Society of Australia (SSAI) held the 17th Annual J.B. Douglas Awards on Wednesday 23rd November 2016 at UTS.

The Awards are in honour of the contributions to the profession made by Professor Jim B. Douglas. The purpose of the Awards is to provide a visible platform to showcase the depth, breadth and excellence of research performed by Ph.D. students in Statistics and related fields and an opportunity to network with peers across all areas of interest such as medical statistics, bioinformatics, government statistics, marketing, econometrics, finance and many more. This year, 9 postgraduate students from 9 schools across 7 universities presented their research.

A group of 13 UOW NIASRA staff and postgraduate students attended the event. Ph.D. candidate, James Dawber, was our UOW representative and did an excellent presentation entitled: Capturing random-effects in categorical models using expectiles. Congratulations James for representing SMAS UOW with style!

As usual the standard of presentations was very high. The judges decided to give only one prize this year. This was awarded to Thais Rodrigues (2nd from left in group photo) from the School of Mathematics and Statistics at UNSW.

The awards are followed by a guest lecture and dinner; this year the lecture was given by Professor Jean Yang, School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Sydney: Integrated single cell data analysis for understanding mechanisms of neuronal diversity.