The Faculty of Engineering and Information Science’s contribution to delivering excellence for the University was recognised recently through the 2020 Vice-Chancellor Awards. 

The annual Vice-Chancellor Awards acknowledge the outstanding efforts of UOW staff who work tirelessly towards UOW’s vision and strategic goals, celebrating their commitment to research, education and advancing health and safety, community, and diversity.

The awards also support the University’s values of a workforce with strong performance expectations, recognition and celebration of initiative and enterprise, and staff who are recognised and appreciated for their contribution.

Usually celebrated in a ceremony, this year’s event was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Faculty will celebrate its winners at a small event on September 8.

The following individual staff awards were presented:

Award Recipient Position Team or Project Title
Workplace Health and Safety Mr Clayton McDowell Associate Fellow
Global Strategy Senior Professor Willy Susilo Senior Professor, Head of School
Excellence in Community Engagement Mrs Robyn Dawson Administrative Officer
Excellence in Community Engagement Dr Holly Tootell Senior Lecturer SENSE Spaces
Excellence in Community Engagement Dr Sim Lau Senior Lecturer SENSE Spaces
OCTAL – Faculty Award Dr Prashan Premaratne Senior Lecturer
OCTAL – Faculty Sessional Award Ms Nadeeka Sajeewani Miguntanna
RESEARCH – Interdisciplinary Research Award Professor Michael Lerch Professor, Head of School Next Generation Sunscreens
RESEARCH – Interdisciplinary Research Award Dr Vitor Sencadas Senior Lecturer Next Generation Sunscreens
RESEARCH – Excellence in Research Supervision Award (Levels D-E) Professor Rian Dippenaar Professor
25 Years Service Associate Professor Andrzej Calka Associate Professor
25 Years Service Dr Zhixin Chen Senior Lecturer
25 Years Service Ms Lorelle Pollard Faculty Executive Manager
25 Years Service Ms Yuan Tian Computer Systems Officer
25 Years Service Dr Koren Ward Senior Lecturer

For more information visit the Vice-Chancellor Awards website.