MedPhys17, the annual Student Research Symposium of the NSW/ACT Branch of the Australian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine, was held on December 7th 2017 at the University of Sydney. This event is showcasing the Medical Physics research activities of the NSW/ACT universities and hospitals. Postgraduate research students (Masters & PhD) and Medical Physics Registrars are given the opportunity to present their work in a friendly and supportive environment, with prizes awarded to the best presentations thanks to the support of the event sponsors, Varian, DTect Innovation and the Institute of Medical Physics.

This year, there were 26 candidates in the postgraduate research category and 9 candidates for the registrar one.

We are delighted to announce that the 3 prizes were awarded to UOW PhD students from the Targeted Nano-Therapies (TNT) theme at the CMRP.

In the Medical physics Registrar category, Ryan Brown won the prize for his clinical work at St George hospital “Implementation and validation of a real-time prostate HDR brachytherapy system: Dosimetric verification and use of FMEA in the development of a QA program”. He will graduate this month at UOW for his PhD entitled “Investigating the properties and applications of Ta2O5 nanostructures for cancer radiotherapy”.

In the postgraduate research student category, the winners were CMRP PhD candidates Marjorie McDonald and Elette Engels.

Marjorie McDonald presented her work on “First Independent in vitro Evidence of Oncothermia efficiency treatment in combination with megavoltage radiation”, which part of a wider project entitled “Improving the Efficacy of Radiotherapy for Cancer Treatment”.

Elette Engels, with her talk “ Towards Image-Guided High-Z Nanoparticles enhanced Microbeam Radiation Therapy” added another presentation prize to her 2017 portfolio already including the best student presentation prizes at IRA 2017 and Geant 4 workshop, the EIS 3 minutes thesis competition award winner and the recent 2017 AIP Postgraduate Excellence Medal.

These prizes recognise the quality of the multidisciplinary projects coordinated by TNT theme at the CMRP with strong interactions with IHMRI, ISEM, Prince of Wales hospital and the Australian Synchrotron.

Our acknowledgements and thanks go to their supervisors and mentors including Associate Professor Michael Lerch, Dr Susanna Guatelli, Associate Professor Konstantin Konstantinov (ISEM), Sarah Toole, Professor Michael Jackson (Prince of Wales hospital), Dr Moeava Tehei, Dr Stephanie Corde (Prince of Wales hospital) and Distinguished Professor Anatoly Rozenfeld. We also acknowledge the financial support of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Project and Development Grants.

Congratulations again to all!