Titled “Interfacial Tension in the CaO-Al2O3-SiO2-(MgO) Liquid Slag-Solid Oxide” Authors, Hamed Abdeyazdan, Brian J. Monaghan, Raymond J. Longbottom, M. Akbar Rhamdhani, Neslihan Dogan, and Michael W. Chapman took out the AIST Kent D. Peaslee Award.

This was a fundamental interfacial chemistry paper that came out of University of Wollongong PhD student Hamed Abdeyazdan’s thesis project and was sponsored by the Engineering Materials Research Centre and BlueScope Steel.

The award was established in 2017 to honour Dr. Kent D. Peaslee for his support of AIST, including serving as AIST President in 2012–2013 and in recognition of his efforts to educate students at all levels in support of the steel industry, explain concepts to new engineers and promote university relations within the industry. This award is presented to the author of a technical paper on “Inclusion Engineering and Clean Steel”.