The International Symposium on Transport Geotechnics is the biggest and the most prestigious conference in the discipline of transportation in the field of geotechnical engineering.  Held every 3 years, the 2018 Symposium was held in India from April 6 to 8.

Director of the ARC Industrial Transformation Train Centre for Advanced Technologies in Rail Track Infrastructure (ITTC Rail), Distinguished Professor Buddhima Indraratna delivered the Plenary Keynote Address for the Railway Engineering category after the Opening Ceremony. 15 academic staff, research staff and students from our Centre attended it; the Conference was hosted by the Indian Geotechnical Society, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (IIT-Delhi) and Indian Institute of Science (IISc-Bangalore).

At this Conference, about 8-10 awards are given to Young Geotechnical Engineers, in the categories of Roads, Rail, Airfields, Ports and General Pavements, based on their submitted papers where the judging panel consisting of the International Technical Advisory Panel has to vote for a large number of selected papers by the Local Organising Committee members, where the young professionals have to be the 1st Author of the paper and below the age of 35 and papers are selected from both academia and industry. The winners are given extra 5 minutes for their presentations plus awards. This year UOW Centre of Geomechanics & Railway Engineering (CGRE) students working in CRC-Rail Manufacturing and ARC projects received a notable number of these awards.

In two of the 5 major categories, two of CGRE current PhD students are the winners of 2018 Young Geotechnical Engineers, and they are:

Ms Chamindi Jayasuriya

Use of Energy Absorbing Rubber Mats beneath Railway Sleeper to minimize Track damage (Supervisors: Indraratna and Cholachat); PhD Project, c/o CRC-Rail Manufacturing

Rakesh Malisetty

Mathematical modelling and Comparison of Particle breakage Models in Transport Infrastructure (Supervisors: Indraratna and Vinod); PhD project c/o special VC’s award for UOW-IIT (Kharagpur) collaboration.

Runner Up of other Categories

Ms Kirti Chowdhury

Use of Biodegradable Vertical Drains in Road Embankments (Supervisors: Cholachat and Indraratna); PhD project c/o ARC Linkage

Ms Miriam Tawk

Critical analysis of Compaction-induced Degradation of Granular Materials (Supervisors: Indraratna and Heitor), PhD Project c/o ARC Discovery

Former PhD student

Dr Pankaj Baral – Visco-plastic modelling of Soft Soil with radial consolidation for road embankments (Supervisors: Cholachat and Indraratna); PhD project c/o ARC-Linkage

Congratulations to all the winners and UOW ITTC Rail and CGRE researchers!